Ag Hall of Fame welcomes six members

By Alice McFarlane
January 11, 2019 - 1:46pm

The Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame recognizes individuals making significant and distinguished contributions to the welfare and improvement of Saskatchewan agriculture.

The 2019 inductees are Chantelle Donahue of Biggar, who has taken a leadership role on public trust; Clarence Hookenson of Kisbey, an accomplished cattleman who established a reputation as a cattle judge and supporter of 4-H; irrigation advocate Roger Pederson of Outlook; and Arnold Petracek of Esterhazy, who has an extensive background in local government. Daniel Prefontaine of Saskatoon spent his career advancing the cause of food processing in Saskatchewan and Dr. Neil Shantz who worked with the hog industry in health management. Both men are from Saskatoon.

Hall of fame Board Chair Reid Andrew says organizations often recognize a peer who has done good work for the agriculture industry.

"They fill out the form which tells us about the person, what they've done and how they've helped Saskatchewan agriculture," Andrew said. "It comes back to the board and everybody votes, we prioritize the candidates and they're chosen that way. These nominations don't disappear. Next year the ones that aren't selected come back to us along with the new ones."

The inductees will be honored at a ceremony in Saskatoon April 27.


[email protected]

Crop Production Week kicks off in Saskatoon

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.